Does my uterus look big in this?

Little cupcake at 12 weeks

Little cupcake at 12 weeks

This seemed the perfect occasion to create a new blog. Little cupcake has been cooking for 16weeks 3 days, and the miracle of life continues to amaze me. Wow to the growth of my breasts, the expansion of my stomach [and sadly, thighs and gluteus-maximus]. Wow to the fact that we all started out as a miniature person wiggling around in our mother’s womb, eating her food and playing havoc with her bladder. This is really happening to me. Pinch pinch. Now I’ve just got the small matter of moving house to contend with, Christmas, and then 2015 will be upon us. Preggers the same time as the Duchess too. Bingo. Welcome to the world of the grown ups.

It’s such an exciting journey to be embarking on, and I thought a little corner of cyberspace would be a good place to record the adventure. I spent the first 12 weeks either yawning, asleep, eating [gosh I’ve been HUNGRY; greedy little cupcake] – or staring into space in disbelief! Generally I think I’ve been really lucky so far, no puking or nausea, just an insatiable desire for glasses of cold milk or huge pieces of steak. Give me the cow etc.

I’ve predicted a little boy since the beginning, but I get to find out in a few weeks at my 20 week scan. I have no preference, but my instinct says boy. I have a Doppler, and every morning I listen to the heartbeat chugging along like a steam train …. incredible incredible incredible.

In the rare quiet moments between work and sleep and FOOD, and house purchasing …. I try to formulate my parenting philosophies and what sort of mother I hope to be. It is such a balance, such a responsibility. I’ve had so many enriching experiences in life, from my travelling days, volunteering, university etc. and what I hope for little cupcake is to be brought up first and foremost knowing that he/she is loved unconditionally … that I will always be there to talk to, to listen, and to give one of those big warm hugs we all need from time to time. I want my child to know that it is okay to be different, to think outside the box … that life is precious and short and to be embraced to the full. I want them to know that most people are good, kind people, trying their best – and not to be caught up in the culture of fear. I want them to play outside and enjoy the fresh air … to form opinions and read books … I hope they will grow up slightly fearless, knowing that whatever they do, whatever they like; I will do my best to support it. I want them to laugh a lot and never take life too seriously.

That may all sound terribly idealistic – and I don’t see parenting as some marshmellowy sugary fun factory …. but hey, this is my blog, and I’m just airing the things rumbling around my head this Saturday evening.

I’m sure I’ll be back again soon … in the meantime, I need to sort out my stretchy clothes and I really need to invest in a maternity bra … miraculous things are happening to my usually B cupped breasts. The weight of them!!!!!!!!

 

 

One thought on “Does my uterus look big in this?

Leave a Reply

