Bumping along

Baby Boy Bump 32 Weeks

Baby Boy Bump 32 Weeks

Where, oh where does the time go? Suddenly, from New Year’s Day onwards I could no longer bask in the security of the words “next year” with regards to the baby! However, I feel like I’ve really turned a corner with the nursery and ticking things off my list of “clobber to buy”! It is reassuring to think that should my little chap decide to make an early appearance, momma is ready for him. I’ve been so lucky with so many generous friends/family passing on clothes and a cot, changing table, steriliser etc; and I’ve found some super bargains in terms of pram, car seat and Isofix base. Seriously, when I first heard the word Isofix I thought I’d stumbled across another language [it does sound a bit like an ISIS stronghold] …. and after a rather traumatic morning in Mothercareworld where it was suggested I change my car due to boot size …. I decided the Quinny was the way to go! It’s red too, and I LOVE red.

The nursery so far! Watch this space!

The nursery so far! Watch this space!

My cousin [aka birthing partner] and I went on our tour of the maternity ward last weekend. Sarah was convinced everyone would think we were the token gay couple. It was actually really reassuring to see where we have to go when the time comes, and it’s pretty close to Costa Coffee, so that’s always a bonus. As you can see from the above photo, my bump continues to “bloom” – and baby boy is measuring nicely on the top line of the graph! We have booked a labour class for a couple of weeks time, and I actually feel really well. I can’t complain about pregnancy at all, and realise I’ve had it pretty good so far – aside from the thighs, MY GOODNESS, my thighs, they are HUGE. I am looking forward to jogging around the park with the Quinny in a couple of months and breastfeeding them back into a size 10! But seriously, if all I have to complain about is my wobbly thunder thighs, then it can’t be too bad! On another tac, my birthing partner now feels much calmer about the whole process, especially after I promised her as much gas and air as she wants!

I did amuse myself yesterday afternoon by googling “what does childbirth feel like” – and reading some hilarious responses on netmums. I’ve now got mental images of s******g a fridge and having a bunsen burner rammed up my ladybits. I’m looking forward to giving you a detailed description of my own experience in due course … but please feel free to comment with comparisons.

I’m so excited now about meeting baby boy. As the days go by his little hands and feet become more apparent as he wriggles around in what must now be quite a confined space. Since returning to work last monday after the festive period [how did 12 days go so quickly!!] I’ve been sleeping much better with my 2am pee break factored in … and really hope I can work until the end of February [last full pay cheque!!] …

You’ll notice that I haven’t mentioned baby’s father at all throughout this blog, as I want to keep this a cheerful place to talk pregnancy and plans of motherhood. No, this baby wasn’t planned [despite accusations otherwise…], and no, we aren’t together. I’m ashamed of neither, and remain horrified at the attitudes of some people, especially those who profess Christianity! My grandmother had a child out of wedlock in 1944, and it amazes me that 71 years later bringing a child into the world without a husband/relationship is frowned upon. I want my baby boy to grow up knowing that it simply doesn’t matter … that he will meet people of all religions, races, sexualities … that none of these factors change their humanity and rights. I have probably said before, that I hope to bring my child up as an accepting, open minded individual; I think the beauty of parenthood is nurturing a spirit which is quite independent from your own …. nurturing a bird who will one day fly away … and resisting the temptation to clip those wings for your own needs ….

It’s a whole new world …

 

3 thoughts on “Bumping along

Leave a Reply

