You are my sunshine …

image2 (1)

Fun at the Fair 28.05.2016

I’m fast learning that parenting is a huge balancing act of protection and independence. Today in our beloved park the fair opened. We’d watched it set up the past few days, and I’d decided the rides were far too big for my nearly 15 month old. We  hadn’t planned to go to the park today, but found ourselves footloose and fancy free this afternoon. I spotted this lime green VW bug on one of the smaller rides, with fixed doors … Freddie was pointing and smiling, so I decided we’d give it a try – terrified he would climb out whilst it was moving or cry and be traumatised for years. I made the operator assure me she could stop it if he was about to fall off. Paranoid? Geez, I was a nervous wreck as the button was pressed and the speed picked up. As you can see, I needn’t have worried … and my heart melted a little as Fred’s chubby face beamed from behind the steering wheel. It sounds silly, but I’ll never ever forget seeing him so happy, so well after the past week … and looking so grown up and proud in his new England kit. Suddenly there is a little boy, sitting on a roundabout, in a little car, on his own. Another milestone of sorts, and one I had to briefly Blog about before falling head first into the pillow beside him and catching up on some much needed Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz …

image1 (1)

His face says it all!

 

Leave a Reply

